On the 13th of September, the winners of the Student Academy Awards were announced. The short documentary film "Family" by Yifan Sun was included among the award-winners. The festive award ceremony will be held on the 17th of October.

The Student Academy Award was established in 1972. Every year, the Academy gives awards in 4 categories: animated, documentary, feature and alternative film. In addition to the categories for film school students from the USA - there are parallel categories for students from abroad. The award-winners include, among others, Robert Zemeckis and Spike Lee. The winners can apply for an Academy Award nomination.

This year, the Student Academy Award in the foreign documentary film category went to the film "Family" by Yifan Sun. 

"Family" was made at the Lodz Film School. This is not the first success of the Lodz Film School in the Student Academy Awards. In 2016, Klara KochaƄska won the award for her film "The tenants."

The full list of award-winners of the Student Academy Awards can be found on the website of the Academy.